In memory of Rudolf Pesch

* Sept. 2, 1936   † Jan. 13, 2011

Only few exegetes receive the honor of being cited by the Pope. It happened to Rudolf Pesch in the Jesus book of Pope Benedict XVI – and not just once but three times. This demonstrates not only the German Pope’s high appreciation of the historic-critical exegesis. It also demonstrates that for Rudolf Pesch, as an exegete of the New Testament, the Bible is not only a historic and literary document but a guideline for the Christian existence of today.

Born in Bonn in 1936, married and father of two children, he had all chances of pursuing a university career after completing his doctoral studies on modern history (“The ecclesial-political press of the Catholics in Germany before 1848”, 1964) and the New Testament (“The imminent eschatological expectation. Tradition and editing in Mk 13”, 1967). His early specialization on the Gospel of Mark reveals quite a bit about his academic interest. He always wanted to go back to the very beginning, to the original Jesus, to the original words of Jesus, to the original form of the Gospel, to the original Epistles of Paul which he reconstructed with the help of clever literary-critical hypotheses from the canonic ones, back to the earliest traditions of the Church which he found in the Acts of the Apostles. His collections of writings with over 600 works (among them the substantial considerations on the Gospel of Mark, the Acts of the Apostles and the Epistle to the Romans) demonstrates enormous diligence and high productivity on high academic standards.

After a decade of professorship of Biblical studies at the University of Frankfurt/Main (1970-1980), his professorship of New Testament exegesis at the University of Freiburg im Breisgau as from the year 1980 represents the highlight in his academic career. The fact that a layman was appointed to this renowned Chair was spectacular news. Hence, the education of candidates for the priestly ministry and theologians was entrusted to a representative of the younger generation of exegetes who mainly dedicated their research to the historic-critical method.

However, the works of Rudolf Pesch have always been characterized by and incorporated in an existential way of living out one’s faith. At the end of the 1960s, he got to know the “Integrated Community” (today: “Catholic Integrated Community”). It was not only the “vita communis,” the shared entrepreneurial activities and the concept of living together in so-called integration houses, which impressed him about it but the serious involvement with modern theology and exegesis as well. Through symposiums and personal encounters (in particular with initiators of the community, Traudl Wallbrecher and her husband Herbert, and the theologian Ludwig Weimer who was to become a student of Ratzinger at a later date) he discovered not only the exegesis but also the structure-congruent experience of a Christian community as hermeneutic key elements for the correct understanding of the Bible.

The realization that the same belief he had found through academic methods with Jesus and his disciples was still possible within a community of the 20th century turned him into a fighter “against the double truth” (which is the title of his lecture on the occasion of Karl Rahner’s 80th birthday in 1984), against the falling apart of theological knowledge and daily practice of faith.

In the same year, he came to a decision which he referred to as his “calling to Munich”: He left his Chair in Freiburg in order to live and work within the Catholic Integrated Community. At this place, as he declared in his farewell lecture, he had “discovered and understood on the basis of specific historical experience what repentance, belief, a parish, the people of God, the history of salvation, the sacrament, assembly, mass and theology really meant.” The university and ecclesial environment did not understand his departure and interpreted it as a provocation. However, for some of his students (among whom there is also the author of these lines) it was the initial impulse to also go to this place where theology is not only taught but actually lived.

In the following decades, Rudolf Pesch carried out his historic and exegetic work to build a bridge between the texts of the Scripture and the experiences of this community constituted on the basis of the New Testament.

A new issue he focused on was the encounter between Jews and Christians which emerged out of the question about the causes of the Shoah and the vision of the one people of God which was manifested by the “Urfeld Circle.” From 2000 until 2002 he lived in Israel. His clear-sighted conclusions have been published in some papers of the past years.

In 2008, at an age when other people retire, he returned to university. Together with other theologians of the Catholic Integrated Community, exegetes, dogmatists and church historians he established the “Chair for the Theology of the People of God” at the Pontifical Lateran University. For him, it was a way to give back – in the form of interdisciplinary collaboration – the experiences of Church and the theological insights he was able to make. In his last lecture, he once again crossed the borders of his discipline and discussed the differentiation of the biblical faith and the religions referring to theologians such as Karl Barth, Dietrich Bonhoeffer und Franz Rosenzweig. The radical nature of his search for truth and authenticity in his scientific research and life is what we should strive for and take as an incentive.

Prof. Michael P. Maier, Jan. 27, 2011
to the overview

In Memoriam Rudolf Pesch

* 2.9.1936   † 13.1.2011

Nur wenigen Exegeten wird die Ehre zuteil, von einem Papst zitiert zu werden. Rudolf Pesch ist das im Jesus-Buch von Papst Benedikt XVI. gleich dreimal widerfahren. Das zeigt nicht nur, wie sehr der deutsche Papst die historisch-kritische Exegese schätzt. Es zeigt auch, dass für den Neutestamentler Rudolf Pesch die Bibel nicht nur ein historisches und literarisches Dokument war, sondern ein Leitfaden für eine heutige christliche Existenz.

1936 in Bonn geboren, verheiratet und Vater zweier Kinder, stand ihm nach der Promotion in Neuerer Geschichte (“Die kirchlich-politische Presse der Katholiken in Deutschland vor 1848”, 1964) und im Neuen Testament (“Naherwartungen. Tradition und Redaktion in Mk 13”, 1967) die Universitätslaufbahn weit offen. Dass er sich schon früh auf das Markusevangelium spezialisierte, verrät einiges über sein wissenschaftliches Interesse. Er wollte immer zum Anfang zurück: zum ursprünglichen Jesus, zu den echten Jesusworten, zur Urform des Evangeliums, zu den originalen Paulusbriefen, die er mit Hilfe raffinierter literarkritischer Hypothesen aus den kanonischen rekonstruierte, zu den frühesten Traditionen der Kirche, die er in der Apostelgeschichte fand. Sein Schriftenverzeichnis mit über 600 Titeln (darunter die bedeutenden Kommentare zum Markusevangelium, der Apostelgeschichte und dem Römerbrief) zeugt von enormem Fleiß und einer großen Produktivität auf hohem wissenschaftlichen Niveau.

Nach dem Jahrzehnt als Professor für Bibelwissenschaft an der Universität Frankfurt am Main (1970-1980) bildete die Professur für Neutestamentliche Exegese an der Universität Freiburg im Breisgau ab dem Jahr 1980 den Höhepunkt seiner akademischen Laufbahn. Dass ein Laie auf diesen bedeutenden Lehrstuhl berufen wurde, war eine aufsehenerregende Neuheit. Damit wurde die Ausbildung der Priesteramtskandidaten und Theologen einem Vertreter der jüngeren Exegetengeneration anvertraut, der sich in seiner Forschung ganz der historisch-kritischen Methode verschrieben hatte.

Doch die wissenschaftliche Arbeit Rudolf Peschs war schon damals getragen und eingebunden in einen existenziellen Glaubensvollzug. Am Ende der 60er Jahre hatte er die “Integrierte Gemeinde” (heute: “Katholische Integrierte Gemeinde”) kennengelernt. An ihr beeindruckte ihn nicht nur die “vita communis”, die gemeinsamen wirtschaftlichen Aktivitäten und das Zusammenwohnenin sog. Integrationshäusern, sondern auch die ernsthafte Beschäftigung mit moder ner Theologie und Exegese. Durch Symposien und persönliche Begegnungen (vor allem mit den Initiatoren der Gemeinde, Traudl Wallbrecher und ihrem Mann Herbert, und dem Theologen und späteren Ratzinger-Schüler Ludwig Weimer) entdeckte er neben der Exegese die strukturkongruente Erfahrung einer christlichen Gemeinde als hermeutischen Schlüssel für das richtige Verständnis der Bibel.

Die Einsicht, dass derselbe Glaube, den er mit seinen wissenschaftlichen Methoden bei Jesus und dessen Jüngern fand, auch in einer Gemeinde des 20. Jahrhundert möglich ist, ließ ihn zu einem Kämpfer “gegen die doppelte Wahrheit” (so der Titel seines Festvortrags zum 80. Geburtstag von Karl Rahner im Jahr 1984) werden, gegen das Auseinanderfallen von theologischer Erkenntnis und alltäglichem Glaubensvollzug.

Im gleichen Jahr fällte er eine Entscheidung, die er als seine “Berufung nach München” bezeichnete: er gab seinen Freiburger Lehrstuhl auf, um ganz in der Katholischen Integrierten Gemeinde zu leben und zu arbeiten. An diesem Ort hatte er, wie er in seiner Abschiedsvorlesung erklärte, “aus konkret-geschichtlicher Erfahrung kennen und verstehen gelernt, was Umkehr, was Glaube, was Gemeinde, was Kirche, was Volk Gottes, was Heilsgeschichte, was Sakrament, was Versammlung, was Gottesdienst, was Theologie ist”. Für das universitäre und kirchliche Milieu war sein Weggang unverständlich und provozierend; für eine Reihe von Studenten (darunter der Autor dieser Zeilen) aber bildete er den Anstoß, selbst den Ort aufzusuchen, an dem Theologie nicht nur gelehrt, sondern auch gelebt wird.

In den folgenden Jahrzehnten vollzog Rudolf Pesch seine historische und exegetische Arbeit als Brückenschlag zwischen den Texten der Schrift und den Erfahrungen einer neutestamentlich verfassten Gemeinde.

Einen neuen Schwerpunkt bildete dann die Begegnung zwischen Juden und Christen, die aus der Frage nach den Ursachen der Shoah und der Vision des einen Gottesvolkes entstanden war und im “Urfelder Kreis” eine dauerhafte Gestalt erhielt. Von 2000 bis 2002 lebte er in Israel; seine hellsichtigen Einsichten sind in einigen Publikationen der letzten Jahre niedergelegt.

2008, in einem Alter, in dem andere emeritiert werden, kehrte er noch einmal an die Universität zurück. Zusammen mit anderen Theologen der Katholischen Integrierten Gemeinde, Exegeten, Dogmatikern und Kirchenhistorikern, gründete er an der Päpstlichen Lateran-Universität den “Lehrstuhl für die Theologie des Volkes Gottes”. Er war für ihn ein Instrument, um in einer interdisziplinären Zusammenarbeit die Glaubenserfahrungen und theologischen Einsichten, die er machen durfte, der universalen Kirche zurückzugeben. In seiner letzten Vorlesung überschritt er noch einmal die Grenzen seines Faches und behandelte die Unterscheidung zwischen dem biblischen Glauben und den Religionen, anhand von Theologen wie Karl Barth, Dietrich Bonhoeffer und Franz Rosenzweig. Die Radikalität, mit der er in seinem Forschen und Leben das Wahre, Authentische suchte, sollte uns Ansporn und Maßbleiben.

Michael P. Maier, 27.1.2011

Zur Übersicht