Chair

Profile

The Chair focuses on the term „People of God“: the identity of this people and its experiences as handed down through the Scripture and the Church tradition. The Chair deepens the knowledge of the lasting Jewish imprint on the Church and its initial form of life, i.e. Community.
The Theology of the People of God sees itself as „empirical science“ (C. S. Lewis): it emerges from the life of believers and aims at a renewal of the People of God. Within the horizon of the modern world view, this theology connects reason and faith. Its working principle is the synopsis of the various theological disciplines.
The Chair offers studies on site in Rome as well as online, i. e. also for professionals worldwide.

History

On the initiative of the Catholic Integrated Community (CIC) in Munich and in close collaboration with the Pontifical Lateran University and its Pastoral Institute “Redemptor Hominis”, the “Chair for the Theology of the people of God” was established at this university in 2008. At university level, it continues the work of the “Academy of the Theology of the People of God” which was initiated in 2003 by the former Cardinal Joseph Ratzinger.

Faculty

Prof. Dr. Achim Buckenmaier , Director

Prof. Dr. Ludwig Weimer , Director 2008-2011

Prof. Dr. Michael P. Maier

Dr. Rudolf Kutschera, Tutor of the Distance Learning Program

Publications of the Chair

Achim Buckenmaier – Ludwig Weimer (Eds.):

A poor People of God for the poor in the World.
The Challenge of Pope Francis

Lateran University Press, Vivae Voces 21, Rome 2014
“A poor People of God for the poor in the world”

Achim Buckenmaier – Arnold Stötzel – Ludwig Weimer

Die sieben Zeichen des Messias
Das eine Volk Gottes als Sakrament für die Welt.

Regensburg 2012. ISBN 978-3-7917-2426-3
Partial publication of the lectures from the academic year 2010/11

Pontifical Lateran University

The Pontifical Lateran University is a renowned University with seat in Rome and is positioned within the exterritorial area of the Holy See at the Lateran. Evolved from the very heart of the Church and situated in the center of Rome, saints and popes have been studying there over the course of its more than 200 years of history. Today, the Pontifical Lateran University presents itself as an avant-garde of education and scientific research. Basic education on the one hand, and specialization on the other hand, are the characteristic offers of its four faculties and two institutes. A master’s degree program und diverse specialization courses enrich and complete this offer.

Lecturers and students from all over the world represent an international dimension and mirror the Church’s worldwide mission. Students are provided with holistic growth from a cultural, human and pastoral perspective.

Further information on the Pontifical Lateran University in Italian and English can be found here.

Lehrstuhl

Profil

Der Lehrstuhl nimmt den Begriff „Volk Gottes“ in den Blick: die Identität dieses Volkes und seine Erfahrungen, wie sie in der Bibel und der kirchlichen Tradition überliefert sind. Dadurch vertieft er das Wissen um die bleibend jüdische Prägung der Kirche und deren ursprüngliche Lebensform Gemeinde.
Die Theologie des Volkes Gottes versteht sich als „Erfahrungswissenschaft“ (C. S. Lewis): sie geht aus dem Leben von Glaubenden hervor und zielt auf eine Erneuerung des Volkes Gottes. Im Horizont des modernen Weltbildes verbindet diese Theologie Vernunft und Glauben. Sie arbeitet in einer Zusammenschau der verschiedenen theologischen Disziplinen.
Der Lehrstuhl bietet Studienmöglichkeiten in Rom und online (also auch für Berufstätige) an.

Geschichte

Im Jahr 2008 wurde auf Initiative der Katholischen Integrierten Gemeinde in München und in enger Zusammenarbeit mit der Päpstlichen Lateran-Universität und dem Pastoral-Institut „Redemptor Hominis“ an dieser Hochschule der „Lehrstuhl für die Theologie des Volkes Gottes“ eingerichtet. Auf universitärem Niveau führt er die 2003 auf Anregung des damaligen Kardinals Joseph Ratzinger begonnene Arbeit der „Akademie für die Theologie des Volkes Gottes“ weiter.

Mitarbeiter

Direktor: Prof. Dr. Achim Buckenmaier

Stellvertretender Direktor: Prof. Dr. Michael P. Maier

Gründungsdirektor: Prof. Dr. Ludwig Weimer

Studienleiter des Fernstudiums: Dr. Rudolf Kutschera

Veröffentlichungen des Lehrstuhls

Achim Buckenmaier – Ludwig Weimer (Hrsg.):

A poor people of God for the poor in the World.
The Challenge of Pope Francis

Lateran University Press, Vivae Voces 21, Rom 2014
“A poor people of God for the poor in the world”

Achim Buckenmaier – Arnold Stötzel – Ludwig Weimer

Die sieben Zeichen des Messias
Das eine Volk Gottes als Sakrament für die Welt.

Regensburg 2012. ISBN 978-3-7917-2426-3
Teilveröffentlichung der Vorlesungen aus dem Studienjahr 2010/11

Päpstliche Lateran-Universität

Die Päpstliche Lateran-Universität ist eine angesehene Universität mit Sitz in Rom und befindet sich innerhalb des exterritorialen Gebietes des Heiligen Stuhls am Lateran. Im Herzen der Kirche entstanden und im Zentrum Roms gelegen, studierten hier im Laufe ihrer über 200-jährigen Geschichte Heilige und Päpste. Heute stellt sich die Päpstliche Lateran-Universität als eine Avantgarde der Ausbildung und der wissenschaftlichen Forschung dar. Grundausbildung einerseits und Spezialisierung andererseits sind die charakteristischen Angebote ihrer vier Fakultäten und ihrer zwei Institute; ein Master-Programm und verschiedene Spezialisierungskurse bereichern und ergänzen dieses Angebot.

Dozenten und Studenten aus der ganzen Welt stellen eine internationale Dimension dar und spiegeln die weltweite Sendung der Kirche. Sie ermöglichen den Studenten ein umfassendes Wachstum in kultureller, menschlicher und pastoraler Hinsicht.

Weitere Information zur Päpstlichen Lateran-Universität auf Italienisch und Englisch finden Sie hier.